Air Cargo Sustainability Awards 2020

You are here: Home / Air Cargo Sustainability Awards 2020

Act today for a resilient tomorrow

In partnership with one of the leading industry IT solutions providers CHAMP Cargosystems, TIACA is organizing the second Air Cargo Sustainability Awards to recognize outstanding businesses and industry initiatives to make air cargo more sustainable.

With this competition TIACA aims to celebrate and encourage creative solutions demonstrating a strong vision for a responsible, resilient, and united air cargo industry. 


The submissions should cover ideas and practices demonstrating how cargo is making positive change in the 3+2 areas of TIACA’s sustainability vision:  supporting social welfare, economic development and environmental protection through innovation and partnerships.


This year the awards will recognize solutions from established companies, such as large air cargo supply chain companies, industry organizations and scholars; growing businesses, like start-ups in two separate categories.

This year, two categories of leadership in sustainability will be awarded:

Corporate Prize will recognize an established corporation, an international organization or a scholar with a long standing presence in the cargo community with a one-year free membership in the TIACA Sustainability Strategic Partnership Program, worth USD 10’000.

The Start-Up Prize will recognize and encourage young growing businesses building their presence in air cargo industry:

  • Winner: USD 10’000
  • Two runners-up: USD 2’500 each 

All shortlisted candidates will also be recognized with access to exclusive TIACA events and speaking opportunities, publicity in TIACA’s communication and networking opportunities.


Following the recent announcement of the cancellation of 2020 ACF, TIACA reaffirms its commitment to recognizing outstanding businesses making air cargo more sustainable and continues calling entries to the 2nd Air Cargo Sustainability Awards, sponsored by CHAMP Cargosystems. TIACA will organize a virtual event in Fall 2020 to keep pushing for and rewarding innovative sustainable practices. Additional details will be communicated shortly.

Jury members

  • Chris McDermott, CEO, CHAMP Cargosystems
  • Deniz Kargaci, Manager, Corporate Sustainability Management, Turkish Airlines (bio)
  • Eng Naif Al-Abri, CEO, TRANSOM
  • Steven Polmans, Director Cargo & Logistics, Brussels Airport (bio)
  • Susy Schoneberg, Head, Flexport (bio)

Key dates

Contest opens
June 29th
Applications close
September 30th
Finalists announced
Early November
Winners announced

Winners of the Air Cargo Sustainability Awards 2019

Winner: Wings for Aid Foundation (humanitarian aid delivery box powered by drone technology)

Runner-ups: M&G Packaging Corp (BioNatur Plastics solution) and Nallian (Open Ecosystem of collaborative apps)

Additional information

For more information view the Terms & Conditions (pdf) or contact the TIACA Team.

2019 Award Winner 


“During the award ceremony in Budapest, we have witnessed a group of industry leaders that is eager to innovate. The award under CHAMP sponsorship has allowed us to bring the box to a higher level and with Astral Aviation, we are working on a hybrid model that serves humanitarian and business interests at the same time.

Our team is committed to social inclusion and sustainability and is happy that TIACA has put this firmly on the agenda. The appointment of Mrs. Hourcade as Transition Director by the TIACA board fuels the trust that the cargo industry is getting ready for a whole new era. We encourage fresh participants to approach the issue focused and open minded.

If appreciated, you will find yourself in a community that can move mountains. The current COVID-19 situation has made the general public, once again, more aware of the vitality of global air transportation networks.”

 Barry Koperberg Founder & General Manager, Wings For Aid

Barry Koperberg Founder & General Manager, Wings For Aid


Exclusive Award Sponsor